Five distinct types of characteristic ecosystems, which are clearly distinguished from each other by the prevailing vegetation, are spread over the wider area of ​​Konitsa. At low altitudes (375m to 700m) we find ecosystems of evergreen sclerophyll shrubs, higher up oak forest ecosystems (700m-1000m), at medium altitudes (1000m to 1600m) coniferous and beech forests, at high altitudes (1600m to 2000m) Heldreich’s pine forests (Robolo) and at higher altitudes (2000m-2637m) subalpine and alpine meadows. These ecosystems quite often spread over relatively large areas or form mixed sets, giving the form of a complex mosaic, whose individual units stand out from afar by the particular color of the foliage of the various trees that make it up.