The route to Pyrsogianni starts from the square of Coca-Karia on the main road, from where started the craftsmen of the stone on their long journeys. From there we follow the path to the upper square that leads to the guesthouse building with a stopover in the old building of the school which is intended to house the Museum of Epirus craftsmen. Alternatively before we reach the upper square we can follow the path to the left which leads to the church of St. Nicholas, a real monument of religious tradition and local architectural heritage built in 1742. From the square, visitors can follow the road that leads to the church of St. George, built in the style of the Cathedral of Athens, from local craftsmen who wanted to transfer to their village the glamor of the cathedral of the capital. On their departure from Pyrsogianni visitors can make a stop at Our Lady of the emigrants located five kilometers from the village. It is the big festival of the village every 15 of August all the residents of Pyrsogianni come, locals and emigrants to celebrate the Virgin Mary.
(POI = Coca Karya , Guesthouse, Saint Nicholas, Saint George, School)
Coca -Karya The Square of Coca -Karya is located near the main road that crosses the village leading to Vourbiani. It was the departure point for craftsmen for their migrations. The departure was always the Wednesday after Ash Monday.
In the yard of the house which was ready by early animals were loaded with the traveler’s luggage…. At the departure they gave the halter of the animal to a child who had a mother and father to pull it out… Children who were traveling for the first time with the mob was treated by the relatives giving them various currencies. All together came to St. Minas where was taking place the general farewell. The nearest relatives accompanied the travelers until Vathylakkos. And when the caravan with the craftsmen was passing the ladder of Stratsiani and they could no longer been seen, women wiped their tears, they cut branches of dogwood and placed them on the lintel of the door with the hope that the travelers return being safe and sound..
The Guest house with the emblematic name Armoloi is located in the central square of the village. It was built in 1929 with voluntary participation and financial assistance of Pyrsogianni residents. In 1996 its infrastructure will be renovated and will be significantly improved. It is a reference point and meeting place for expatriates and has a restaurant where visitors can taste dishes based on traditional recipes and pure ingredients, accompanied by the local raki.
The church of St. Nicholas with the typical living room and the traditional gabled roof is the trademark of Pyrsogianni. It is a reference point for all the residents of Pyrsogianni, it survived thanks to the tireless efforts of Kostas Frontzos, president of the company of Epirus Research and Professor Anastasios Orlandos. At the east end of the church stands a small square bell tower with three levels, built in 1960 in an older steeple position.
The oldest church of St. George dates back to 1712. According to the testimony og Thomas Papakostas: The old church of St. George was built in 1712 in the same place that is today… It was a beautiful church with colonnade as the one of St. Nicholas with the only difference that the columns were wooden. You descend seven steps down to earth to enter the main entrance. It has a tall iconostasis with carved dense decoration…” The old church was demolished in 1897 but the new one was built in 1903-5, or a little earlier after the demolition of the old one .
In the mid-19th century will mature the conditions for the creation of the first school in Pyrsogianni. In 1841 will be built the first school of elementary education, later knownas the “Old School”. The Old School will be destroyed by fire in 1914 and in its place will be built the current building intended to house the collection of the Museum of Epirus craftsmen.